Giants

Numbers 13: 27-28

“We went to the land where you sent us. It truly flows with milk and honey and this is its fruit. Nevertheless the people who dwell in the land are strong; the cities are fortified and very large; moreover we saw the descendants of Anak there.”

The Lord had commanded Moses to send spies into Canaan, which was the land God promised the Israelites. Moses encouraged them to be of good courage as they scouted the land, to see whether the people who dwelt there were strong or weak, whether the land was good or bad. The spies came back to Moses and Aaron and all the congregation and told them this passage in verse 27-28 of Numbers.

They start off by stating how beautiful the promised land was, how it truly did flow with milk and honey just like the Lord promised them. It reminds me of how God is faithful, even when we are not. He is so good and His promises never fail, but how often do I doubt the promises that He clearly speaks? Instead of trusting in the sovereignty of God, the spies continued on to say that the people who dwelt there were too strong, and the cities were too strong and fortified, and worst of all, how they saw the descendants of Anak there, who were giants. Almost a year ago in June, I went on my first mission trip to El Salvador, and I can’t help but be reminded of the message that one of my team leaders shared. He spoke about the giants that we face; the trials that seem impossible to overcome. When David faced Goliath, everyone around him told him it was absurd, and that He could never defeat a giant like Goliath. But David knew that it wasn’t in his strength that he would kill the giant, it was God’s strength. He trusted in the Lord, no matter how frightening it may have been to be face to face with Goliath.

In my life, I can look at the giant and think it is impossible to beat it. But that’s not what God asks of me. He knows that I am only human, and I can’t do it, but He can. David didn’t beat Goliath by Himself, He had the Lord behind Him, and His victory was secure in the promise of his Saviour. All David had to do was be faithful to what was asked of Him and trust that God was working through it.

(verse 30) “Then Caleb quieted the people before Moses, and said, ‘Let us go up at once and take possession, for we are well able to overcome it.’” Caleb, along with Joshua, were the only two spies that trusted that God would fulfill His promise to the Israelites, no matter how strong the people of Canaan were.

Sadly, the only response of the other spies was, “We are not able to go up against he people, for they are stronger than we.” (verse 31) They doubted the promise of God because of what their eyes saw. How many times in my life am I the exact same way? Why do I doubt in the darkness what God has shown me in the light? He is faithful and His Word is true, and He simply asks that I trust Him. He gave everything for me, so why am I so reluctant to give my all to Him? Father I pray that You would help me to overcome the fear that so easily ensnares me; to walk in confidence in light of Your goodness, and to not be overtaken by my circumstances and the “giants” that I face. You are there with me every step of the way, and not a hair on my head is touched without your consent. I am Your child, I don’t have to be afraid anymore.

Leave a Reply

