The Importance of Prayer

Numbers 10:9-10

“When you go to war in your land against the enemy who oppresses you, then you shall sound an alarm with the trumpets, and you will be remembered before the Lord your God, and you will be saved from your enemies. Also in the day of your gladness, in your appointed feasts, and at the beginning of your months, you shall blow the trumpets over your burnt offerings and over the sacrifices of your peace offerings; and they shall be memorial for you before your God: I am the Lord your God.

This really stuck out to me as I was reading in my morning devotionals. The Lord used this passage to show me just how important prayer is. When the Israelites would go to war, they would sound the trumpets for the Lord to remember them, like they were calling out to Him. But it wasn’t only when they were in trouble or about to go to war; they would also sound the trumpets in the day of their gladness, when they had their feasts and joyful celebrations. How could these be? Two complete opposites that God asks the Israelites to do the same thing in. When they were in trouble, they called out to the Lord. When they were celebrating, they called out and thanked the Lord.

In my mind, I replaced “sound an alarm with the trumpets” with “pray”. and thought about it in relation to my own life.

“When you go through trials and afflictions, then you shall pray, and you will be remembered before the Lord your God, and you will be saved from your enemies. Also in the day of your gladness, in your appointed feasts, and at the beginning of your months, you shall pray and give thanks for what the Lord has provided; and they shall be memorial for you before your God: I am the Lord your God.”

What God asked of the Israelites then is what He still asks of me today. To pray and call upon His name no matter what may be happening in my life. When life get’s hard and I feel overwhelmed, He simply asks that I call upon His name. If I expect my earthly father to help me when I talk to him about my problems, should I expect anything different from my Heavenly Father? Luke 11:11 says, “If a son asks for bread from any father among you, will he give him a stone?” But how can I expect anything to change if I don’t even ask Him? James 4:2-3 says, “You do not have because you do not ask.”

Yes, He may know all of my thoughts and everything about me, but He still wants me to pour out my heart to Him. That’s what it means to be His daughter; to be identified with Him and to have a relationship with Him. He desires to speak with me and to build my faith in Him. Even when things are great, that is no reason to stop praying. I should be thanking Him and remembering that it was Him that provided for me, that it was Him gave me strength to get through it all.

If I have a friend, and I only come to them in my time of need for help, what kind of friendship is that? Through the good and bad they are there. They are there to help me and to celebrate with me, and I am grateful that I have them as my friend.

So Lord I pray that I would never forget the importance of prayer; what it means to be in constant communion with You and to call upon your name in both the good and the bad. You are there with me always, and your desire is that I simply ask rather than try to do it all in my own strength. Zechariah 4:6 “not by might nor by power, but by My Spirit.”

Leave a Reply

