Numbers 18:20 says,

“Then the Lord said to Aaron: “You shall have no inheritance in their land, nor shall you have any portion among them; I am your portion and your inheritance among the children of Israel.”

God speaks to Aaron in this verse and tells him that in the in the land of the children of Israel, he shall not have a distinct portion of land like the other tribes will. God wanted Aaron and the Levites fully devoted to service and free from worldly entanglements. He provided everything that they needed, and He asked that they would trust Him.  The Lord keeps bringing me back to this verse, to remind me that my value and purpose is found in Him- not my circumstances. That has been a huge lesson that the Lord has been teaching me in Ignite. Now as I find myself looking to what’s next, He continues to show me this truth that I have as His daughter. I am in this world, but no longer apart of it. “O Lord, You are the portion of my inheritance and my cup; You maintain my lot.” (Psalm 16:5) My future and my hope are found in Him, held in the shadow of the wings of the Almighty. I no longer have to fear, He has my entire life in His hands. My contentment can be found in Christ, not the place or way I serve. This world is fading, but God is eternal. Am I wasting my life laying up treasures here on earth, trying to attain an earthly inheritance? Or am I living a surrendered life to Him who has given everything for me? Psalm 16 continues in verse 6 with, “The lines have fallen to me in pleasant places; yes, I have a good inheritance.” I am a daughter of the King, loved despite all my mistakes and sin. This is my inheritance, this is the better life.

Leave a Reply

