The Lord your God is with you

Have I not commanded you? Be strong and of good courage; do not be afraid, nor be dismayed, for the Lord your God is with you wherever you g0.” -Joshua 1:9

This isn’t just a suggestion to Joshua, this is a command. To be strong and courageous, to not be faint of heart or discouraged. If this is where the verse ends, I don’t think it would carry as much weight in my heart as it does. It’s easy to encourage someone and tell them to be strong, but its another thing to recognize where that strength comes from. I can’t simply turn a switch in my brain and suddenly be strong and without fear (as much as I wish I could), it’s the second part of this verse that speaks a powerful truth, “for the Lord your God is with you wherever you go.” It is because He is with me that I can be of good courage, that I can move forward and not be afraid. The god and ruler of the universe cares for me and is always with me, why should I be scared? He is all powerful and all knowing, not a hair on my head is touched unless He allows it. I can be confident in knowing that He loves me and He knows what’s best for me. I was dead in my sin, yet He made me alive together with Him, forgiving me of all my wrongs and trespasses, with which He nailed to the cross. It is by His grace alone that I am able to be called a child of God. I no longer have to strive for acceptance and an earthly inheritance, He is my cup and the portion of my soul. My life is hidden with Christ in God. I don’t have to be afraid any longer. He is my strength and my inheritance. He is with me wherever I go.

Leave a Reply

